As a user or member within an organisation or workspace, what you can and cannot do will depend on what role or "permission" you have. Your ability to carry out actions such adding users or removing members will vary if you're an Admin or an Owner. Within an organisation you can be either an Admin user or a Member user, whereas within a workspace you can have either of the following permissions: owner, can view & edit, can view only.


Understanding Workspace Permissions:

Workspace permissions only apply to workspaces. When you create a workspace, you will automatically become the workspace 'Owner', check out this article to know how to set up a workspace. There are three level of permissions within a workspace: Owner, Can view & edit, Can view only.

  • As the 'Owner', you have → unconditional authority over this specific workspace. You can, for example, invite/disinvite/remove other members. But also, edit, share, unlock and delete any content within this workspace. You can also transfer ownership of content to other workspaces.

  • As a 'Can view & edit' member, you can → create and edit any content within the workspace.

  • As a 'Can view only' member, you can only → print/assign/view content and manage your Notification Settings.

A screenshot showing where permissions are within the workspace settings

Managing Workspace Permissions:

  • As an Owner (Workspace)

  1. Click on the gear icon next to your icon, underneath 'Members' – from the workspace overview

  2. Select the permission of your choice next to the member's name

A GIF showing how to manage permissions within a workspace as an owner

Labstep team tip: As the owner of a workspace, you can set the default permission to 'Can view & edit' or 'Can view only'. Whenever a new member will be added to your workspace, they will automatically have this permission.

A screenshot showing how to set default permissions for new added members
  • As an Admin (Only available for Labstep Pro and Enterprise users)

  1. Click on your organisation's logo at the bottom left-hand corner of your screen

  2. Navigate to 'Users'

  3. Click on the vertical ellipsis next to the user's name and role of your choice

  4. Click on 'Manage Permissions'

  5. Change the user's permissions in the workspace of your choice

Labstep team tip: You can access your Organisation's page from any workspace by clicking on your Organisation's logo, located at the bottom left-hand corner of your screen. You will be able to see the list of users within your organisation, alongside their user role, including yours.

A GIF showing how to manage permissions as an admin

Understanding 'User role':

Please note this is only available for Labstep Pro and Enterprise users

When you sign up onto Labstep, you will, by default, be added as a 'Member' to your organisation's account. The user(s) in charge of the organisation's overall Labstep account will have the 'Admin' user role. The user role will dictate your ability to view/delete all workspaces, even 'invitation only' ones.

  • As an admin, you will be able to view/delete any workspace within your organisation, create/manage workspaces, invite/remove members from the organisation.

  • As a member, you will be able to create a new workspace (except if this function has been disable by an admin), be invited to join other workspaces, view any workspace you are a member of.

Labstep team tip: When you create a workspace, you will automatically become the owner, regardless of your user role. You can create a workspace to work on private projects and then share them to another workspace you are a part of.

A screenshot showing the different user role within an organisation

Managing User role:

Please note this is only available for Labstep Pro and Enterprise users

As an admin you can manage a user's role, by appointing them the role of 'Admin' if they were a 'Member', or demoting an 'Admin' to 'Member'.

  1. Click on your icon

  2. Select 'Organization'

  3. Navigate to 'Users'

  4. Click on the vertical ellipsis next to the user's name and role of your choice

  5. Click on 'Make Admin' or 'Make member'

Labstep team tip: To learn how to add or remove a user check out this article.

A GIF showing how to change a user's role in your organisation


Still need help?

Contact us here or start a conversation with a member of our team using our in-app chat.

Did this answer your question?