On Labstep, content you create is shared to the workspace you are currently working in. However, in addition to the content being saved to the workspace you are currently inside you may want the content to be saved to other workspaces automatically.
The most common reason why this may be desirable is that you are working in workspace with members consisting of just yourself or a few others and you want all inventory items you create in this workspace to be shared to a workspace where the inventory for the entire lab is stored. Usually all members of the lab will have access to this general inventory.
How to enable automatic sharing for inventory items
- Navigate to the workspace where you would like the inventory items you create to be shared to.
- Select 'Overview' on the lefthand menu and then select 'settings' from the horizontal menu.
- Next click the button level with 'custom sharing' to enable custom sharing.
- Finally click the button level with 'Inventory Items' to enable auto sharing of all inventory items you create and own with the workspace.
You can repeat this process with any number of workspaces so that any inventory item you create is automatically shared with with multiple workspaces.
Please note! Only work that you create that you have ownership permission for will be shared. If you create content in a workspace that you do not own, then that content will NOT be shared to the workspace where you have enabled automatic sharing.
Enabling automatic sharing for experiments or protocols
To enable automatic sharing for experiments or protocols follow the same steps for enabling automatic sharing of inventory items except enable the option for protocols and/or resources instead.
Can't find what you are looking for?
When you are logged on click the question mark icon and connect to one of our customer support officers and they will be able to help you.
Alternatively, click the button below to see Labstep's public product road map. The feature you need could already be coming very soon!