A Labstep workspace is a secure digital space where you can share content with other members and get research done. If you don't feel like sharing, workspaces can be used for personal projects allowing you to neatly pull together experiments, protocols, resources and order requests. When you're ready to share, workspaces makes collaborating colleagues easy and are a great way to manage a group or organisation.


How workspaces on Labstep work

As soon as you create a Labstep account, a workspace will be created for you. By default this workspace will be your 'home' workspace. You can create any number of new workspaces and invite colleagues to them. You can also change which workspace is your home workspace.

On Labstep all experiments, protocols or inventory items you create are saved to the workspace you are currently working in. Which workspace you are currently in is displayed on the left hand menu (see image below).
Please note, If you are working in a workspace owner by another user that user will own and therefore have control over the content you are creating in that workspace.


How to create a new workspace



How to switch between workspaces

How to invite members to your workspace to share and collaborate

After you have completed the steps shown in the video the recipient of your invite will receive an email prompting them to click a link. On clicking the link they will be prompted to sign in (or sign up if they don't have an account). Once signed in they will be a member of the workspace they were invited.

Please note
, that you cannot invite lab members to a workspace that you do not have owner permission for (The 'invite member' button will not be visible). If you need 


How to share content to different workspaces, set permission level for shared content and revoke a workspace's access to the content 

Please note, you can share an experiment to as many different workspaces as you like. Also note that you can not share experiments that you are not the owner of to other workspaces


How to set another workspace as your home workspace

Your home workspace is the workspace where you be first taken to when you log into your Labstep account. It's also the workspace where an experiment, protocol or resource will be saved if you click on a sharelink for each of these content types.

Managing workspace permissions on labstep
Click here to read article


Can't find what you are looking for?

When you are logged on click the question mark icon and connect to one of our customer support officers and they will be able to help you.

Alternatively, click the button below to see Labstep's public product road map. The feature you need could already be coming soon!

Did this answer your question?