What are permissions and roles?
The ability of a user to carry out actions, such as editing protocols or deleting other users timeline posts on Labstep is determined by what permissions they have been granted. Instead of assigning each new users individual permissions, users are assigned a role which corresponds to a particular set of permissions.
How a user can interact with individual pieces of content (protocols, timeline posts, experiments, etc.) on Labstep is determined by whether they have OWNER or VIEW permissions. OWNER permissions allows the user to edit, delete, remove and archive the content. For example, if a user creates a timeline post they are then able to archive and edit that post. With VIEW permission users are able to branch protocols but are unable to edit, delete, remove, or archive them.
On sign-up, a user role will be, by default, USER. Users with the role USER have OWNER permission for anything they have created and VIEW for any content created by other users (assuming access is permitted). Anything that is created under the role of USER will not be accessible to anyone outside of projects the user is a member of.
NOTE: If a user has the role project OWNER (see below), this user will have OWNER permission for content created by the associated users who have the role PROJECT MEMBERS.
A project on Labstep is an easy way of sharing protocols and research progress with your lab members. By creating or agreeing to join a project, all subsequent timeline posts and created/branched protocols will be shared with project members. Project members will be assigned one of two roles: PROJECT OWNER or PROJECT MEMBER. Creating the project will give you the additional role PROJECT OWNER. Accepting a project invitation will assign you the additional role of PROJECT MEMBER.
PROJECT OWNER Permissions
Only a PROJECT OWNER can invite other members to the PROJECT, retract invitations, and remove PROJECT members.
PROJECT MEMBER Permissions
Once a user agrees accepts an invitation to join a PROJECT they are assigned the role PROJECT MEMBER. A user with the role PROJECT MEMBER has VIEW permissions for any shared content they did not create. Project members are able to leave a project at any time. However, any content they created during as a member of a project will still be shared amongst the project members.